Weather and its impact on travel

I awoke this morning to the sound of the weather-warning siren. I am not traveling today, but the sound of the siren made me think back to times when my travel was delayed due to weather.

I live in Minnesota, where some people think it is always winter. Not true! Plus, we are pretty good at dealing with snow. I’ve encountered three delays due to snow. The most recent was in December. I would have had to sleep at the airport, but I made the horrible drive home. I live close to the airport, but probably should not have made that drive.

I was nearly stranded in Washington DC a few years ago. They don’t deal with snow. They close everything, cancel flights and wait it out. I was lucky enough to be on one of the last flights out as the storm approached.

Summer storms are worse than snow because of the lightening factor, and frequency. I’ve encountered many, many delays due to summer storms.

I’ve only slept in an airport once, and it was because of a summer storm. Airlines don’t help their passengers with food or housing in the event of weather delays. Weather is outside of their control, so you are on your own.

Delays are frustrating, but safety is an important consideration in all travel. I would rather arrive late than not at all.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in airports, planes, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

