Next trip – Rome and Mediterranean cruise

I’ve said it before, but I really do enjoy planning and researching trips almost as much as taking them.

I’ve only been on one cruise – also Mediterranean. I will re-visit some places, but also see new ones on my upcoming cruise at the end of September.  My previous cruise went to the following places that I will not be visiting again- Athens, Turkey, Malta, Cadiz, and Lisbon. It also included these ports that I will see again – Civitavecchia (Rome), Monte Carlo and Barcelona.

The upcoming cruise starts and ends in Civitavecchia so I will be arriving early and staying a few extra days post-cruise to really see and experience Rome. This cruise also has an overnight in Barcelona, so nearly two days compared to part of a single day. I’ve seen Barcelona so I am not terribly excited about spending more time there. My plan is to rent a car and visit nearby beach towns instead of hanging out on Las Ramblas.

Part of my research for almost every trip includes checking the “1000 places to see before you die” book.  If time allows, I might be able to visit lots of new places!

  • Italy – 11
  • Spain – 4
  • Tunisia – 2

But…since I am on a cruise and have limited ability to fit lots of places into a single port PLUS I don’t want to return home exhausted I will need to prioritize. I think 6-8 is realistic for this trip.

This trip will get me to a new continent – Africa. I don’t have a list for these since there are so few, but I have been to Asia, Europe and North America already. That leaves Antarctica, Australia and South America after this trip.

Couple of things I like about cruises:

  1. I only need to unpack once
  2. I am not driving
  3. I get to spend enough time in places to determine whether a long trip in the future is needed

My previous cruise had a packed day in Rome and part of a day in Monte Carlo. Based on that trip, I’ve already returned to the south of France and spent almost a week there, including another day in Monte Carlo. And, I have added almost 5 days in Rome to the next cruise.

Based on the last cruise I decided that I never need to return to Lisbon, Cadiz, Malta or Turkey. I am glad I got to visit those places, but there are 888 other places in the book that I haven’t seen yet; and that is more important to me than returning to places I didn’t love.  I do need to return to Greece, but not this trip.

I leave in 32 days.

Mediterranean

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, boat, cruise, Italy, Monaco, Spain, the book, water. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Next trip – Rome and Mediterranean cruise

  1. If you hire a car in Barcelona my recommendation is to drive to Girona! Have a good trip.

Leave a Reply

