Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

I admit it – I only went to this museum because it is in “the book.” But…. I am really glad I did. The courtyard alone is worth a visit. It is so beautiful I could have spent the whole afternoon there. Pretty flowers and ferns – very well maintained. I especially liked the mosaic tile floor in the middle. It would be a great place for a wedding.

There are some really impressive pieces at this museum, and they had a huge theft 20 years ago; but there were entirely too many religious pieces. IMHO (I am considering starting a new list – the number of Mary and baby Jesus paintings I have seen in museums.)

Sadly, the theft included a Vermeer.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, museum, the book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

