Bamberg Germany

Sunday 4th October 2015

Bamberg’s city center is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and is in “the book.”

City began as a fortress.

City Hall was built on an island in the river. It is quaint. It rained all day. I could have cut the umbrellas out of the picture, but declined to as I think they add to the charm.

View from the bridge

Random, weird baby leg sticking out of city hall.

 This is the garden behind the Bishop’s residence. Late in the year for roses, but still pretty.

IMG_5122

IMG_5129

IMG_5130

According to our guide, there are 9 breweries in the city. We did a beer tasting at one of them. I only like the light colored beer, and the pretzel of course.  The middle one was a smoked beer, which reminded me of bacon.

IMG_5141

Cute blue building is where we did the tasting.

IMG_5132

I couldn’t resist getting this little cupcake. But it was very, very dry. Pretty, but not tasty.

IMG_5145.JPG

IMG_5143

Despite the rain, our day in Bamberg was wonderful.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Germany, the book, Viking River Cruise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment